SydneyVisa Pty Ltd.
ABN 37 109 812 820
MARA No.0103440
Migration Agents Registration Authority

Contact us: alexgrinko
Phone: +614 19423378
Fax: +612 96929921



Visa Subclasses

Basic requirements

The skilled stream of Australia's Migration Program is specifically designed to target migrants who have skills or outstanding abilities that will contribute to the Australian economy.
For General Skilled migration to Australia, applicants or their spouses must be able to satisfy all of the following basic requirements:

Point Test

If you apply to migrate to Australia under General Skilled Migration category, you will be assessed against a points test.

Points can be awarded for age, English language ability, Australian or overseas work experience, education, Australian study, study in regional Australia, Professional Year in Australia, partner's skills, state nomination or eligible relative sponsorship, one of Australia's communities language. Points are awarded once the basic requirements have been satisfied.

Pass mark

You must gain sufficient points to reach the pass mark. From July 1, 2010 the pass mark of 60 points was set for all GSM visa subclasses.

Estimating your points score

The easiest way to estimate your points is to fill in our short online questionnaire.

Points for education

Once your qualification has been assessed as satisfying the requirements of Australian Qualification Framework, you can be awarded the following points:

  • Vocational education (Certificate, Diploma, Advanced Diploma) – 10 points.
  • Higher education (Bachelors and Masters) – 15 points.
  • Doctoral Degree or equivalent – 20 points.

For point test purpose your education does not have to be relevant to your nominated occupation. For example, if you have been assessed as a Secondary School Teacher by AITSL, and also have PhD in Science, you can have 20 points for it.

Points can be awarded only for one qualification, even if you have several.

Points for age 

Points are allocated for your age at the time of application:

  • 18 to 25 years (at time of application) - 25 points
  • 26 to 32 years - 30 points
  • 33 to 39 years - 25 points
  • 40 to 44 years - 15 points
  • 45 to 49 years - no points.

Points for English language ability

  • Competent English (IELTS 6666 or equivalent) - no points;
  • Proficient English (IELTS 7777 or equivalent) - 10 points;
  • Superior English (IELTS 8888 or equivalent) - 20 points.

Points for specific work experience

Points are awarded separately for Australian and overseas work experience.

Australian work Experience:

  • 1 year - 5 points.
  • 3 years - 10 points.
  • 5 years - 15 points.
  • 8 years - 20 points.

Overseas work experience:

  • 3 years - 5 points.
  • 5 years - 10 points.
  • 8 years - 15 points.

These points can sum up but are capped to 20.

Points for Australian study 

Applicants who have studied in Australia for 2 years and obtained a qualification relevant to their nominated occupation are awarded 5 points. The study must be full time face-to-face.

Where the study took place in regional Australia (outside Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and some other cities), another 5 points are awarded.

Points for partner's skills

Applicants can be awarded 5 points if their partner holds a qualification from the same list (SOL or CSOL, depending on visa subclass) as the main applicant and satisfies English language and age requirements. The qualification must be assessed as suitable for migration purposes by the relevant assessing authority.

Points for credentialled community language 

Five points can be awarded if the applicant has been accredited by the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) as a translator or interpreter to one of Australia's communities language at the paraprofessional level or above.

Points for eligible relative sponsorship

If an applicant is applying for Skilled Regional visa (subclass 489) sposored by an eligible relative living in a designated area of Australia, 10 points are awarded. 

Points for State/Territory nomination 

Applicable to visas 190 and 489 only.

  • State/Territory nomination for visa subclass 190 – 5 points.
  • Regional nomination for visa subclass 489 – 10 points.

Points for Professional Year in Australia

Applicants who satisfy Australian study requirement and have undertaken an approved Professional Year program are awarded 5 points.


Skilled - Independent (subclass 189) visa

You must satisfy basic requirements of Australian migration law and be assessed against the point test with minimum score of 60. Your occupation must be on the Skilled Occupations List (SOL). Skille ... more details

Skilled - Nominated (subclass 190) visa

To apply for this visa you must: be sponsored by a state/territory government. The condition of sponsorship is to live and work in the sponsoring state for 2 years. satisfy basic requireme ... more details

Skilled - Regional Sponsored (subclass 489) visa

This 3 year provisional visa allows it holders to apply for a permanent visa once they have lived for two years and worked full-time for at least 12 months in a designated area of regional Australia. ... more details

Skilled - Graduate (subclass 485) visa

To be eligible for this 18 to 48 month temporary visa you must be a recent graduate of an Australian educational institution having obtained a qualification either from Skilled Occupations List (SOL) ... more details

Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS). Visa 457 and 186

The ENS has been developed for Australian employers to recruit on a temporary (subclass 457) or permanent basis (subclass 186) highly skilled staff from overseas or temporary residents currently in Au ... more details